ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Importance of declarations on landing cards for Indefinite Leave to Remain applications

Only for queries regarding Indefinite Leave to Remain (ILR). Please use the EU Settlement Scheme forum for queries about settled status under Appendix EU

Moderators: Casa, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny

ahmedzaid
inactive
St Kitts-Nevis

Importance of declarations on landing cards for Indefinite Leave to Remain applications

Post by ahmedzaid » Fri Apr 27, 2018 11:51 am

Good day,

This is my 6th year in the UK and I am thinking of applying for the Indefinite Leave to Remain (ILR) after I complete 10 years. For 5 out of the 6 years I was a student, but I am now on visitor visa. On reading the 'general grounds for refusal' regarding visitors (not students) wanting to apply for ILR, I came across the following:

"When an applicant has given an undertaking to an entry clearance officer, Home Office officer or the Secretary of State about the length or purpose of their stay but then does not honour that agreement, you must refuse leave to remain under paragraph 322(7). For example, an applicant states that they will leave the UK at the end of a specific period rather than apply to extend their stay." ( https://www.gov.uk/government/publicati ... -to-remain ) (page 50)

Does this mean that if I enter the UK on a visitor visa and write on my landing card that I am planning to stay for 1 month but then stayed for 2 or 3 months but still left before my visitor visa has expired, that this will lead to my ILR application being refused?

Note also that on the same page of the document it says the following:

"Standard of proof