ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Tier 5 - GAE: PhD student / academic visit

Only for UK Tier 5 (Temporary work) points system
Also includes the Youth Mobility Scheme Tier 5

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

ricardofg
Newly Registered
Brazil

Tier 5 - GAE: PhD student / academic visit

Post by ricardofg » Tue Feb 27, 2018 11:49 pm

Greetings,

I am a PhD student at a university in Brazil (started in 2015) and I have a grant/scholarship to do an academic visit (not as student, I will no take any courses) of 9 months at the University of Manchester. I already talked to the professor which will host me there and the application procedure has already started. However, I still do not know whether I should apply for a Tier 5 - GAE visa (as sponsored scholar) or for an Academic Visitor visa, since I found a lot of conflicting or unclear information.

In particular, I am worried about what can be considered "highly qualified" requirements for Academic Visitor and if the purpose of my academic visit complies more closely to the Tier 5 - GAE or Academic Visitor rules.

More information:

- I started my PhD in 2015 and should finish it some months after I return to Brazil in 2019.
- My research project was approved by a Brazilian research agency (FAPESP), which will pay me monthly during the visit (grant/scholarship).
- The amount I will receive meets the National Minimum Wage.
- I am going as a visiting researcher/student, hence I will not need to pay tuition fees.
- The research project does not coincide with my PhD thesis, but it is closely related to it.