ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Self-employed while on Tier 2

Only for the UK Skilled Worker visas, formerly known as Tier 2 visa route

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

Dinaaa
Newly Registered
Jordan

Self-employed while on Tier 2

Post by Dinaaa » Mon Jul 02, 2018 12:32 pm

Hi everyone..

I realised this week that I made a terrible mistake due to ignorance of the Tier 2 rules. I work as a university lecturer on a Tier 2 visa and have been in the country for the past 5 years. My ILR application is set for 8/8/2018 at a premium service centre. I was extremely careful throughout my time in the UK in terms of absences outside the country, police registration, and so on. My income is above the threshold and I have a permanent contract with the university. I'm also a home-owner and plan to stay in the UK.

In 2016, I accepted a couple of odd jobs: one was a consultancy, and one was a translation job for a text within my area of expertise. As I said, I'm a lecturer but my work focuses on gender, and the two jobs I accepted had a higher education and gender focus to them. Not wanting to be on the wrong side of the law, I declared this income to HMRC and submitted a self-assessment tax return and paid the tax due.

It was only this week that I realised that accepting these jobs was a breach of the rules. I can't tell you how devastated I am that I have broken the rules, and I feel worse for having done so due to ignorance. I was trying my best to be careful and respect the law, which is precisely why I declared this income.

My question is: is this now a hopeless case? Or is there anything I can do at this point to fix the situation?