ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Help needed: ILR long residence continuity query

Only for queries regarding Indefinite Leave to Remain (ILR). Please use the EU Settlement Scheme forum for queries about settled status under Appendix EU

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

jayacharm
Newly Registered

Help needed : ILR by long residence applying as a tier 2 dependant

Post by jayacharm » Tue Jul 24, 2018 10:06 am

Dear Gurus,
Me and my husband came to uk as students and then after competing studies my husband started working. I have been an student dependant and then a tier 2 dependant which is the visa am currently holding. Our 10 year long residence completes in Sep/18 and also tier 2 continuous five years residence completes in Feb/19. We have tier 2 until Feb/2020. We intend to apply ILR by 10 years route in Aug this year and would like your kind help with regard to the following questions.

1. Should my husband and I apply at the same time in person or can I apply later? I have heard that as soon as he receives ILR my tier 2 dependant visa will be cancelled. Does this mean it is better for me to apply first or for us to apply together on the same day in one day service?

2. How should our child’s tier 2 dependant visa (he was born in the UK) be converted to citizenship? When can this be done?

3. Any opinion on which route is better and more safe, 10 year or 5 year? (I once got a visa rejected for my own tier 2 visa which I applied for home country while on tier 2 dependant, due to an error in cos. But I came back to uk using my existing tier 2 dependant visa. Can this have any effect on either of the routes?)