ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Tier 1 Exceptional Talent application (non tech)

Only for the Global Talent visa, formerly known as Tier 1 (Exceptional Talent) visa

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

chechoacg
Newly Registered

Tier 1 Exceptional Talent application (non tech)

Post by chechoacg » Tue Feb 14, 2017 3:49 pm

Hello Everyone,

I found some posts here helpful so I wanted to contribute my experience with the application process I did to get a Tier 1 Exceptional Talent/Promise. Prior to this I had been living in the UK for 6 years where I studied (Bachelors & MA) and worked for 2 years on a Tier 2 Visa. I left the UK in order to do the application as I couldn't transfer from the Visa category I had to the Tier 1.

Stage 1: I am a musician, so the awarding body I applied to was the Arts Council England. I collected all the documents needed and applied through the Exceptional Promise category.

- 3 letters of recommendation. 2 of them were from UK based businesses and 1 was a personal reference
- 10 evidence documents. A mixture of contracts of shows/tours, payments and invoices of concerts, proof of radio airplay, performances, or reviews of released recordings or performances as part of different projects (not just on my own)
- The necessary form properly filled out.

I sent the documents by Royal Mail (someone kindly gathered them and helped me organise them by distance) on the 12th of December on next day delivery. On the 14th of Dec. they took the payment from my account. They inform you it takes between 6-8 weeks to receive an answer.