ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

My Tier 1 story

Only for the Global Talent visa, formerly known as Tier 1 (Exceptional Talent) visa

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

LenaRiab
Newly Registered

My Tier 1 story

Post by LenaRiab » Fri Feb 03, 2017 6:15 am

This is a short story about my experience of getting Tier 1 Exceptional talent/promise UK visa. I hope it may be useful to someone who is planning to apply for the same.

I am a postdoc, at the moment of application I had 12 publications and had been recently awarded a Marie Curie fellowship. I applied by post for the endorsement to the Royal Society on the 10th Nov 2016. I obtained the recommendation letters from my PhD supervisor and my future fellowship host (both professors at UK universities). My application has been forwarded to the Royal Society on the 15th Nov 2016, and on the 7th Dec 2016 I received an email from the Home office confirming my endorsement. To proceed with the second step of the application, I posted my passports, BRP and the application form to the Home Office on the 5th Jan 2017. On the 10th Jan 2017 I received a paper letter that instructed me to submit my biometric information (photo and fingerprints) at a designated post office, which I did the next day. On the 21st Jan 2017 I received an email from the Home Office officer who was processing my case, requesting my police registration certificate. I replied to the email immediately, explaining that I had not been required to register and therefore did not have the certificate. Nevertheless, this led to a week of delay (and no excuses from the officer), and on the 28th Jan 2017 I received another email, saying th