ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Universal Credit Joint Application

Questions and discussions about claiming benefits while living and working in the UK

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

deslumberdoll
Newly Registered
Canada

Tier 4 Visa Student and British Partner's Universal Credit Joint Claim

Post by deslumberdoll » Fri Nov 02, 2018 1:14 am

Hi everyone,

I have been looking for information regarding this weird situation my partner and I are currently in.

I am a Tier 4 student visa holder, subject to immigration control, and no access to public funds. On the other hand, My partner of 2.5 years is a natural born British citizen, who has been receiving Universal Credit ("UC") for the past few months.

Recently, we moved into the same place, and Universal Credit is requiring both my partner and I to submit a joint claim.

Although on the UC online guidance website, it states:
"...Only one member of the couple will complete the claim form, but that person will need to enter details for both of you..."
(https://www.gov.uk/government/publicati ... or-couples)
...the UC website does not allow my partner to submit information on my behalf. Hence, it seems I will have to register as an applicant for UC, which violates my Tier 4 conditions.

Researching online came up mostly empty, as the UK Department for Work & Pensions website only states:
"...If one of you isn’t eligible, their capital and income may still be taken into account"
https://www.gov.uk/government/publicati ... or-couples
...which did not cover on UC application's effect on visa status.