ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

First UK Passport with foreign born parents

A section for posts relating to applications for Naturalisation or Registration as a British Citizen. Naturalisation

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

secret.simon

Re: First UK Passport with foreign born parents

Post by secret.simon » Mon Nov 19, 2018 1:55 am

Merging your threads so that anybody responding has a fuller picture of your circumstance.
I am not a lawyer or immigration advisor. My statements/comments do not constitute legal advice. E&OE. Please do not PM me for advice.

wellwellwell
Newly Registered

Post by wellwellwell » Mon Nov 19, 2018 3:19 pm

Hi all,

So after a bit more learning I have found that my parents both must have had ILR or PR because they took out a mortgage in the years before I was born. Apparently you would not be able to do this if you were not "settled"?

Just trying to find/access/potentially order some documents to send to prove this was true around the time of my birth.

Are P45/national insurance numbers of my parents of any use here?

(p.s.I phoned a helpline for advice, they mentioned potentially doing a "subject access request" as an option (https://www.gov.uk/government/publicati ... mmigration) but would prefer not to go down this route as this could take months, it will confirm my parents settled status but don't think it will give me a document I can use to send to apply for a British passport.)

Thanks for any advice.

alterhase58
Germany

Post by alterhase58 » Mon Nov 19, 2018 9:17 pm

wellwellwell wrote:
Mon Nov 19, 2018 3:19 pm
Hi all,