ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Tier 1 Graduate to Tier 1 Entrepreneur - Do I extend after 3 years or apply for ILR

Only for UK Tier 1 (Entrepreneur) points system. This route is now closed to new applicants.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

samisaade
Newly Registered

Tier 1 Graduate to Tier 1 Entrepreneur - Do I extend after 3 years or apply for ILR

Post by samisaade » Thu Dec 06, 2018 3:35 pm

Hi all,

I am currently in my third year of the Tier 1 Entrepreneur Visa, and the 5th year total in the Tier 1 visa. In 2014 I applied and received the Tier 1 Graduate Entrepreneur Visa. I then extended that by 1 year as per the guidelines. I then switched to the Tier 1 Entrepreneur Visa as per the guidelines. Therefore:

2014-15: Tier 1 Graduate Entrepreneur
2015-16: Tier 1 Graduate Entrepreneur
2016-17: Tier 1 Entrepreneur
2017-18: Tier 1 Entrepreneur
2018-19: Tier 1 Entrepreneur

Now that the third year is soon coming to an end I am a little confused about the next steps. Assuming I have satisfied the normal requirements (not the accelerated ones), do I now apply for ILR? Or do I still first need to apply to the 2 year extensions of the Tier 1 Entrepreneur visa? This would give me 7 years total.

The guidance says "You can apply for settlement (also known as Indefinite Leave to Remain or ILR) under Tier 1(Entrepreneur) once you have reached five years continuous leave in the United Kingdom under the route. " But it does not specify whether Tier 1 Graduate Entrepreneur is considered as part of the same visa or whether it is completely separate.

Thanks in advance!

CR001
Mood:
South Africa