ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Applying for British Citizenship- Quick question on English Language requirement

A section for posts relating to applications for Naturalisation or Registration as a British Citizen. Naturalisation

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

Swati Trikha
Newly Registered

Applying for British Citizenship- Quick question on English Language requirement

Post by Swati Trikha » Tue Jan 15, 2019 4:58 pm

Hi,
I am a UK resident and my status is indefinite leave to remain in UK. I am now in the process of applying for UK citizenship.
I have a query on the English Language requirement. When I came on spouse visa in 2012, I came on the basis of EILTS test with an overall band score of 7.5. However, in March 2014 when I applied for indefinite Leave to remain, I again applied for Cambridge English Level 1 Certificate in ESOL international. I was awarded with Pass with Distinction demonstrating an ability at Level 1. This was accepted for my ILR.

My query is if the above English language Level 1 certificate from Cambridge be sufficient, even though it is no longer in the list of recognised English qualifications. Would I have to reapply for English language test? On the website it does state the following:

"Applying for citizenship
You can use a B1 level qualification that’s run out if you’re applying for citizenship and it was accepted when you settled in the UK.

It does not matter if the B1 level test you took is not on the current list of recognised tests. You do not need to take another test."

I am still concerned and would like someone to assure me if the English language requirement would be met for my citizenship.