ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Bringing spouse over

Forum to discuss all things Blarney | Ireland immigration

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

Loveoverlaw
Newly Registered
Ireland

Bringing spouse over

Post by Loveoverlaw » Fri Feb 22, 2019 9:02 pm

I need some information Im fairly new to this so if I post anything wrong please don’t be too harsh :mrgreen:
Here goes my situation:

I’m an Irish citizen married to a non-eu national. I don’t have the requirements needed to bring my husband on spouse visa as I’m working part time and studying. I cannot wait 3 years or leave my studies so I’ve considered these options to bring him over asap.
1. Bringing my spouse to Ireland on student visa (without mentioning that I’m married to him) and then marrying him here under Irish law.

2. Bringing him to another Eu country on student visa (e.g Germany) and then applying for the EU family residence card so he can move to Ireland with me. (Now this is the “residence card of a family member of an EU citizen”)

I’ve considered the second option because it seems like coming to Ireland on student visa is still harder than getting student visa of other EU countries.

Now my question is 1. do I need to show financial capability to apply for Eu family residence card for my husband? 2. Will the EU family residence card work on student visa? Like does he need to be a resident of the EU country he will be staying in?

What would be my best option? I appreciate any information regarding my situation.

shpirtshqipe
Member of Standing

Re: Bringing spouse over

Post by shpirtshqipe » Sat Feb 23, 2019 8:36 am

You appear to contradict yourself.