ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Help please! Changing SOC code to shortage list (TIER 2 )

Only for the UK Skilled Worker visas, formerly known as Tier 2 visa route

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

ghazisaghir
Newly Registered

Help please! Changing SOC code to shortage list (TIER 2 )

Post by ghazisaghir » Thu Mar 14, 2019 5:46 pm

Hello, need some help from all of you guys!

I have been working in the UK since Jan 2015 on tier 2(general). I came as a student and had a tier 4 visa before.

I applied for the job as a graphic designer in a local digital firm as it was advertised. When I got the job, my company wanted to apply for my tier 2 visa at that time they were told that the graphic designers cannot get tier 2 visa as it is below NQL level 4. So, therefore they were keen and gave me a job with SOC code of 2137 Web Design and development professional but my job role in the company was a graphic designer. I also applied for an extension under 2137 web designer last year.

Now, I am wishing to get ILR in Feb 2020. However, my salary on SOC code 2137 web designer currently does not meet the threshold requirement needed for ILR. Therefore, I was recently advised by immigration consultants to change my SOC to "3421 Graphic Designers" or "3416 Art officer" so I would fall under the shortage list. I have told my company and they are ready to amend and update it.

May I ask:

a) If changing the SOC code to "3421 Graphic designers" which is now in shortage occupation list from "2137 Web Design and development professional" (current) is possible and easy for the employers to do? Perhaps via SMS system.