ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Divorced universal credit

Questions and discussions about claiming benefits while living and working in the UK

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

SundayNight
Newly Registered

Divorced universal credit

Post by SundayNight » Mon Mar 18, 2019 1:17 am

I am a British citizen of Lebanese origins, I have been in the UK for 6 years and four months ago I got divorced, I have an overseas degree and in order to qualify it I have to pass certain exams, it took long because my husband wanted me to stay dependent on him, since the divorce I moved out and I used my own personal savings which at the time were around £9200 to rent this place, I am reading for my exams and practising at home, have been looking for a part time job to support myself, i was told I couldn't claim job seekers allowance until i get my national insurance number which i received yesterday morning, am I eligible for universal credit? I don't have children and I am not disabled, my savings are below £5000 now I am stressing too much I spend hours everyday on indeed, reed, totaljobs, Glassdoor, cv library looking for a 16-20 hours per week job and i haven't gotten any luck yet, am I qualified to receive universal credit? When I rented I told the lettings the truth that i had those savings and i am looking for a job and a friend of mine is my guarantor, will they ask me to leave if I claimed benefits now? I know it's easier to go to the beauru and ask but when I went there five months ago before the divorce they didn't help much.
I'd appreciate any help or guidance.
Thank you.

Casa

Re: Divorced universal credit