ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Detailed Public Funds BC and wife on spouse visa

Questions and discussions about claiming benefits while living and working in the UK

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

BE12
Newly Registered

Detailed Public Funds BC and wife on spouse visa

Post by BE12 » Mon Aug 06, 2018 10:34 am

John wrote:
Sun Jul 18, 2010 4:07 pm
My attention has been drawn to detailed Public Funds guidance issued by UKBA.

Click here to read that guidance.

What is the no recourse to public funds condition?
Hi John,

I am a British Citizen, and my wife has just joined me - a year now. I was a permanent staff before she came to the Uk, but I work as a contractor which meant I have periods where I am out of work and cannot meet up with rent and all that.
I want to apply for benefits, but I am wondering if it will affect her when it comes to extension of her spouse visa. Can you please let me know what I can apply for and what I can’t apply for, so it does not affect her when it’s time for extension? I am looking at applying for anything out there for me at least before I start my next employment. Can we apply as joint or I will need to apply for them as just me?
Also, what is required when applying for extension in terms of document and what we need to demonstrate?

CR001
Mood:
South Africa

Re: Detailed Public Funds BC and wife on spouse visa

Post by CR001 » Mon Aug 06, 2018 10:43 am