ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Tier 4 BRP replacement card and travelling

Only for UK Student Visas, formerly known as Tier 4 (General) student visa

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

florie
Newly Registered
Singapore

Tier 4 BRP replacement card and travelling

Post by florie » Sun Apr 21, 2019 4:06 pm

Hello,

I'm not sure if I've posted this topic in the right section, please direct me to the right section if I haven't. Thanks in advance!

So anyway I'm a tier 4 student visa holder currently doing my Masters in the UK. Last week when I was travelling in London my wallet got stolen when I was walking through a crowd because there was a strike/protest going on. :( My BRP was in it and so I reported it to the police, reported it as stolen to the home office and also completed my online application for a replacement.

However here's the problem; I'm actually due to fly back home to do my placement year on 4 June and I read online that the 8 week timeline for a replacement only starts after I attend the appointment (which I scheduled on 4 May as all slots before that are filled in all 3 locations nearest to me). This leaves 4 weeks for me in the UK to wait for my BRP to arrive, and while there are no changes to my details in my passport and BRP (meaning essentially I'm just replacing my BRP with a completely identical one), I can't be certain if I can get the replacement in time.

Is it possible for me to leave the UK before the replacement card arrives? I do have a relative in the UK and I am thinking of having the card couriered to his address, and then subsequently have him pass it to me when he comes to visit in the next one year.