ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Separation during spousal visa process

Family member & Ancestry immigration; don't post other immigration categories, please!
Marriage | Unmarried Partners | Fiancé/e | Ancestry

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

EB108
Newly Registered

Separation during spousal visa process

Post by EB108 » Tue Apr 23, 2019 1:22 pm

As a British national I have been sponsoring my wife's spousal visa since November 2015. All is in order with the paperwork, however 5 months ago we began living at different addresses as a result of a mutually agreed separation.

Am I correct in understanding that we are each obliged to inform the Home Office of our separation in this case, regardless of our current long range intentions with respect to our marriage?

If so, am I correct in understanding that the Home Office will then be obliged by law to revoke my wife's spousal visa and require her to either apply for a different visa or to leave the country?

If so, am I correct in understanding that her visa revocation may take some months to become initiated following the Home Office's receipt of our formal notice of separation?

seagul
Diamond Member
Mood:

Re: Separation during spousal visa process

Post by seagul » Tue Apr 23, 2019 6:02 pm

If it seems impossible of reconciling both of your differences then you should notify to HO who will curtail her visa. But there is no timeline as when will they do that but usually they are pretty quick over this matter but you won't be notified except her only.
The opinion expressed as above is neither a professional advice nor contesting/competing to other member's opinion/advice.