ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Any difference in ease of work permit process in Switzerland with British Passport or with ILR?

Immigration to European countries, don't post UK or Ireland related topics!

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

skyfire165
Newly Registered
Mood:

Any difference in ease of work permit process in Switzerland with British Passport or with ILR?

Post by skyfire165 » Wed Aug 21, 2019 1:59 pm

Hi,

so I hold an Indian passport with ILR since 2011. I have not really had a reason to get a british passport since I've never travelled to Europe.

However, recently I got a PhD at a UK institution and part of this program is that I spend 6 month industrial placement with a company that is co-sponsoring this program in Zurich, Switzerland. They do not know much about the application process but only suggest that I do get a British passport.

I want to completely clear this up because I've read a lot of different information online. My question is: is it actually easier to obtain work permit in Switzerland as a British citizen as opposed to holding ILR with Indian passport? Because I need to know if it is actually worth the stress, time and money to apply for British citizenship and then British passport by December-January.

If the process is the same for a British citizen with British passport, and an Indian passport with ILR, then I wouldn't see any point in getting British passport and rather just tell them this.

Please do give advice.

Thanks!

CR001
Mood:
South Africa

Re: Any difference in ease of work permit process in Switzerland with British Passport or with ILR?