ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Critical Skills Work Permit refusal

Forum to discuss all things Blarney | Ireland immigration

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

alex90
Newly Registered
Ireland

Critical Skills Work Permit refusal

Post by alex90 » Tue Oct 22, 2019 1:35 pm

Hi,

I just got refusal for the critical skills work permit application. I have yet to receive a letter stating the reasons. Just wondering if anyone else going through the same situation. I have an advanced degree in Engineering (Non-IT) from a reputed university in ireland and I have been working for my company (Non-IT) since 1 year. But i was on my 1G visa for most of my employment and I could only apply for the critical skills after the probation period. Any insights would be highly appreciated.

someone suggested to apply for general work permit but my GNIB is already expired. How long does the decision of a general work permit processing take?

Thanks

kupuser
Ireland

Re: Critical Skills Work Permit refusal

Post by kupuser » Wed Oct 23, 2019 1:49 pm

Did your employment, pay and qualifications etc. meet all necessary criteria for a critical skills permit?
Usually this permit refusal means the job / qualifications aren't listed in the critical skills employment list published by the department. I am not 100% sure if holders of stamp 1G are required to apply for work permit, the FAQ says holders of 1, 1A, 2, 2A and 3 immigration permissions are allowed to apply.
I think you should contact INIS and ask them for an extension of your stamp. Tell them you are currently employed and want to continue.

alex90
Newly Registered
Ireland