ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

FLR (M) Question

Family member & Ancestry immigration; don't post other immigration categories, please!
Marriage | Unmarried Partners | Fiancé/e | Ancestry

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

zaref
Newly Registered
Canada

FLR (M) Question

Post by zaref » Thu Nov 21, 2019 8:55 pm

Hi guys, this is my first time applying for the FLR (M) visa as a spouse of a British National/Citizen (my wife).

We have a marriage certificate from May 2019, which is when we had our marriage registered at Manchester City Council.

We are including a few photos and supporting letters to prove our relationship has been and is genuine as husband and wife (as this is our first visa applying for a visa as a married couple). I am not sure if this is required but it was strongly recommended from reading most of the other threads online.

My concern however is the following:

In the supporting letters, I mention that I came to England in August 2017 from Canada where me and my partner performed Nikkah (which is a religious marriage in Islam that isn't recognized by UK law). My question is: will this be an issue in our application as the visa I came on during this time was a standard visitor visa, and not a marriage visa?

I had no intention of living there and me and my wife moved to Canada to live there for 4 months until we decided that settling in England was the best way forward for the both of us as a couple. I came on a Tier 5 Youth Mobility Scheme Visa as I did not want to make any long term commitment until I experienced living in England.