ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

(non EU) Germany to UK on Tier 2 worth it?

Only for the UK Skilled Worker visas, formerly known as Tier 2 visa route

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

simple_explorer1
Newly Registered

(non EU) Germany to UK on Tier 2 worth it?

Post by simple_explorer1 » Tue Jan 14, 2020 12:35 pm

Hello everyone,

Would be great if anyone can help me with my query as below:

I am a permanent resident of Germany (non EU citizen) and work in software development since 9 years now. I am living in Germany since 4.5 years. Recently I have got job offer from a London based company for a Senior role but if want to accept that then I would need to move to UK on Tier 2 General visa.

The problem is if I leave Germany then my permanent residency would become invalid in 1 year (if I don't live here) and Tier 2 being temporary employer tied visa it will take another 5 years to come to the same status in the UK (ILR) as I am here in Germany right now.

My concerns are as below:
1] As Tier 2 is tied to specific employer, if the job is not what I thought it would be then I would end up being stuck with the employer for foreseeable future.

2] If at a particular time I want to change job then the job selection pool is restricted to only those companies who have license to sponsor that too if they have right opportunity at that time, license available, no local candidate etc. (too many variables in between) so I am not sure how that can be good for career.