ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Switch from Tier 4 to Spouse Visa and Obtain UKRI Funding

Only for UK Student Visas, formerly known as Tier 4 (General) student visa

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

priscillajc
Newly Registered
China

Switch from Tier 4 to Spouse Visa and Obtain UKRI Funding

Post by priscillajc » Fri Feb 07, 2020 11:22 pm

Hello all,

I have been studying in the UK on a Tier 4 visa for four years. I am getting married to a British citizen later this year and so will have a spouse visa by the start of my PhD programme in October (so not exclusively 'for the purposes of study'). Does this mean that, having lived here for at least three years before obtaining my spouse visa that, on this spouse visa, I would be eligible for UK Fees and therefore UKRI funding for these fees?

Many thanks for any responses.

sah10406
Diamond Member

Re: Switch from Tier 4 to Spouse Visa and Obtain UKRI Funding

Post by sah10406 » Sat Feb 08, 2020 12:15 pm

priscillajc wrote:
Fri Feb 07, 2020 11:22 pm
Does this mean that, having lived here for at least three years before obtaining my spouse visa that, on this spouse visa, I would be eligible for UK Fees and therefore UKRI funding for these fees?
It is technically possible, but highly unlikely. It will depend on the point at which your main reason for being in the UK was to be with the person who is now your spouse.

The relevant category of eligibility for home fees is "EU Nationals and Family", number 3 on this list:

https://www.ukcisa.org.uk/Information-- ... layer-6082