ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Exceeded number of working hours under Tier 4 Visa

Only for UK Student Visas, formerly known as Tier 4 (General) student visa

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

nithindascp
Newly Registered
Mood:
Bangladesh

Exceeded number of working hours under Tier 4 Visa

Post by nithindascp » Fri Feb 21, 2020 7:30 pm

Hi,

I am an international student studying in UK under Tier 4 Visa. I have been here since one year and I have been working part-time jobs since the last 10 months. I worked for 4 months as a care worker for an agency. I told the agency that I am a student and can't work more than 20 hours a week, however my agency told me that it's okay to work more than 20 hours a week and it must not exceed 80 hours in a month. I worked there for about 4 months and did 2 shifts in a week, leading upto 24 hours a week. Apart from me, there were many other international students working in this way.

6 months ago, I got a another job and moved there. I work similar hours here. Once I exceeded 80 hours and went up to 84 hours a month. My friend went upto 90. My manager told me that if we get any letter from the Home Office, they will speak to them as the extra hours were part of training. He also told me that an extra 3 or 4 hours won't matter. Me and my friend work about 82 - 88 hours a month and this has been the case since the last six months. We haven't had any issues so far, but I am just a bit concerned. Do note that the company we work for is a well established and renowned organisation.