ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Tier 4 - transferring to another university

Only for UK Student Visas, formerly known as Tier 4 (General) student visa

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

nc2736
Newly Registered
Turkey

Tier 4 - transferring to another university

Post by nc2736 » Wed Mar 04, 2020 3:50 pm

Hi everyone,

I am a PhD student in the UK. I have transferred, for example, from University A (UA) to the university B (UB) in November 2019. I completed my first two years at UA, then started my 3rd year at UB.

During the transferring process, UB told me that I have to go back to my home country to apply for a new Tier 4 visa because I cannot do it here in the UK due to new regulations launched in October 2019. I did what they told me and went back to my country, got a new visa and came back to the UK.

After that, I applied to get my IHS refund, because I paid twice. But they told me that you cannot get a refund because you left UK before your visa (first visa provided by under the sponsorship of UA). But, the rules also told me that I cannot apply for a new visa in the UK.

However, one of my friends also had a transferring issue. We started PhD together with her and we transferred to another university in the same year (at the end of the 2nd year). She did not go back to her country to apply for a new visa. Because her new university told her that she can apply in the UK.

So seems that my university mismanaged me and I cannot get back the money I spent on the IHS and plus flights and hotels.

Here, I just would like to ask you that could you please show me which rule says that I can apply in the UK or I cannot apply in the UK?