ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Combining Self-Employed Incomes?? | Spouse Visa

Family member & Ancestry immigration; don't post other immigration categories, please!
Marriage | Unmarried Partners | Fiancé/e | Ancestry

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

PamC123
Newly Registered
United States of America

Combining Self-Employed Incomes?? | Spouse Visa

Post by PamC123 » Mon Mar 09, 2020 3:38 pm

Hello all,

My husband is a British Citizen and I am an American. We both currently live in the United States and we are both self-employed. I work as a remote English teacher and my husband is an artist, so we would be able to continue being self-employed in the UK.

For the UK Spouse Visa, would we be able to combine our self-employed income to meet the £18,600 requirement? Our combined self-employed income comes to about $27,000 (about £20,000). Unfortunately, we can't meet the requirement using only his income until the 2020 tax year.

Thank you so much for any advice you can offer!

THO
- thin ice -
Vietnam

Re: Combining Self-Employed Incomes?? | Spouse Visa

Post by THO » Mon Mar 09, 2020 5:31 pm

Hi,

I am no expert, but I don't think self employed income earned in the US will count. I think your husband would need a full financial year in the UK before he can apply for a spouse visa, and earn over £18.6K alone or have savings high enough that he can combine them with earnings.

Do you have savings of £62.5K, so no need to meet earning requirement?

I am sure someone will correct me if I am wrong, but I believe this is the case.

THO.

geoeng
Canada

Re: Combining Self-Employed Incomes?? | Spouse Visa