ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Preparation for Irish citizenship while resident in NI

Forum to discuss all things Blarney | Ireland immigration

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

AntrimMan
Newly Registered
Ireland

Preparation for Irish citizenship while resident in NI

Post by AntrimMan » Wed Mar 11, 2020 12:27 pm

Hello All,

I'm new to the board and have a question which I can't find online or on any topics already posted.

I'm an NI resident with Irish and UK citizenship. My wife is from Ukraine and was recently granted a UK spouse visa and holds the UK BRP since 1st October and has been living with me in Belfast since then.

Our intention is for her to eventually acquire Irish citizenship when the time comes. I understand the requirements for reckonable residency however I am unsure how we would demonstrate this and provide evidence with an application. The Naturalisation Residency Calculator talks about stamps. What are these, are they stamps on a passport?

Thanks for any help in advance.

AntrimMan.

littlerr
Respected Guru
China

Re: Preparation for Irish citizenship while resident in NI

Post by littlerr » Wed Mar 11, 2020 1:07 pm

Welcome to the board.
Everything is explained in the Form 8. I always say this to new applicants - read all explanatory notes in the form before doing anything else.

The latest form is at: https://www.irishimmigration.ie/wp-cont ... m-CTZ3.pdf

This is what it said:
Where the residency is in Northern Ireland, evidence must be given of being lawfully
resident in that jurisdiction for the period of 1 year immediately prior to the application