ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Business Rates Relief/Coronavirus Grant - Considered "Public Funds"?

Only for UK Tier 1 (Entrepreneur) points system. This route is now closed to new applicants.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

londondweller2020
Newly Registered
Hong Kong

Business Rates Relief/Coronavirus Grant - Considered "Public Funds"?

Post by londondweller2020 » Wed Mar 18, 2020 10:40 am

Hi all,

I am fairly new to the UK immigration system and a newbie to this forum. I was recently granted a Tier 1 Ent visa with "no recourse to public funds" under the £50k route.

The Government recently announced[1] a £3,000/10,000 grant for small businesses eligible for Small Business Rates Relief (SBRR) due to the ongoing outbreak. My local council (Hackney), for example, including mine instructs eligible businesses to apply for SBRR on their Business Rates/Coronavirus Grant FAQ[2].

From what I have gathered, the grant is publicly funded and distributed by local authorities (i.e. similar to other benefits), hence my concern that they could be regarded as "public funds".

Obviously, for any new small business, being able to receive the grant would be helpful, but I am uneasy about applying for it when the time comes, since it seems to carry 'immigration risk'.

If anyone had their main Tier 1 Ent business(es) claim the SBRR/local authority grants in the past and went through the extension process, I would be grateful if you can comment/share your experience.

Thanks a lot and stay safe everyone.

[1] https://www.gov.uk/government/publicati ... businesses
[2] https://hackney.gov.uk/br-budget-2020#b5

Zerubbabel
Respected Guru
Mood: