ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

HELP- Studying abroad- can I still get a citizenship?

A section for posts relating to applications for Naturalisation or Registration as a British Citizen. Naturalisation

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

kamilll
Newly Registered

HELP- Studying abroad- can I still get a citizenship?

Post by kamilll » Sun Feb 02, 2020 10:01 am

Hello,

I am EU Polish National who has Idefinite Leave in the United Kingdom and made England their family home. I lived here all my life. Since October, I am a medical student studying in an EU country with an intention of going back to the UK. I regularly visit my family who still live in the UK. I sent off a British citizenship application, completed all necessary tests and met the requirements. However, I am wondering... will they refuse me my citizenship as I study abroad..? even though, my principal home is in the UK. and lived there continuously for over 10 years.

I hope someone will shade some light on this.

Many thanks,

K

secret.simon

Re: HELP- Studying abroad- can I still get a citizenship?

Post by secret.simon » Sun Feb 02, 2020 3:05 pm

How old are you?

If your citizenship application was submitted before your 18th birthday; what is the UK immigration status of both your parents?

If the application was submitted on or after your 18th birthday; how many days were you absent from the UK in the past five years and in the past year at the time of your application?
I am not a lawyer or immigration advisor. My statements/comments do not constitute legal advice. E&OE. Please do not PM me for advice.

kamilll
Newly Registered

Post by kamilll » Mon Feb 03, 2020 4:33 pm