ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

ILR 5 years counting dates

Only for queries regarding Indefinite Leave to Remain (ILR). Please use the EU Settlement Scheme forum for queries about settled status under Appendix EU

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

haggenjm
Newly Registered
Chile

ILR 5 years counting dates

Post by haggenjm » Mon Apr 27, 2020 2:00 pm

Hi all,

I did my PhD in the UK with a Tier 4 visa, which then got switched to Tier 2 general. I'm about to apply for an extension but I find a hard time to figure out if I will manage to get a total of 5 years at the ends of my extension to apply for IRL. I understand you can apply 28 days before the 5 years. I am trying to avoid paying an extra application for a short period just to fit the 5 year rule (or paying double the fees for a longer than 3-year application).

My visa history follows:
• Tier 4 for and applied for a switch to Tier 2 before the end of July 2018 (I worked in the university under Tier 4 limitations until Tier 2 BRP was received).
• Letter of approval of Tier 2 dated 13/09/2018.
• Due to delivery issues, they dated my BRP the 28/09/2018 (my family BRPs are dated the 13/09/2018 as they arrived without issues).

For the calculation of the 5-year stay required for applying for indefinite leave to remain, which date is used as the start date?

My idea was to get a contract extension that covers from my current end-of-contract date (26/07/2020) to the end date of my current leave to remain (09/08/2020) + 3 years new period (to be covered by Tier 2 Extension) + 14 days usually given by Home office after end-of-contract (expected end of new leave to remain 23/08/2023).