ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Address

A section for posts relating to applications for Naturalisation or Registration as a British Citizen. Naturalisation

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

abk108751
Newly Registered
Cyprus

No National Insurance Number

Post by abk108751 » Wed Apr 21, 2021 6:37 pm

Hello,

I did my masters in the UK, and currently I am a PhD student. I have never worked in the UK. Therefore, I did not get a National Insurance Number. For an NI number, I have been told that I have to wait 3 weeks for the application form and 16 weeks for an approval. This means I need to wait nearly for 5 months to get an NI number.

Is having a National Insurance Number mandatory for UK citizenship application?

Thanks

CULLINAN
Respected Guru
Pakistan

Re: No National Insurance Number

Post by CULLINAN » Wed Apr 21, 2021 10:39 pm

abk108751 wrote:
Wed Apr 21, 2021 6:37 pm
Hello,

I did my masters in the UK, and currently I am a PhD student. I have never worked in the UK. Therefore, I did not get a National Insurance Number. For an NI number, I have been told that I have to wait 3 weeks for the application form and 16 weeks for an approval. This means I need to wait nearly for 5 months to get an NI number.

Is having a National Insurance Number mandatory for UK citizenship application?

Thanks
No
If you do not already have a National Insurance number, you only need to apply for one if you’re planning to:

work
claim benefits
apply for a student loan
pay Class 3 voluntary National Insurance contributions
https://www.gov.uk/apply-national-insurance-number