ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Non-EEA unmarried partner family permit Advice

Use this section for any queries concerning the EU Settlement Scheme, for applicants holding pre-settled and settled status.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

victoriangkb
Newly Registered
Hong Kong

Non-EEA unmarried partner family permit Advice

Post by victoriangkb » Sat May 08, 2021 10:53 pm

Hello everyone,

I am currently a self-employed language tutor on a Youth Mobility Scheme visa which is expiring in a month's time and I've realised that I would really love to stay in the UK and continue my career and personal life here.

My French boyfriend is here and we have been together since 2017 (Jul 2018-June 2019, we were apart but we visited each other three times), we have never lived together apart from the weekends where we stay over at each other’s or when we travelled together. One of the reasons we never cohabited is also because my family is Chinese, very conservative and wouldn’t allow me to move out unless I am married. We would really love to continue developing our relationship here yet we think it would be insensitive to get married just for immigration reasons.

I have been advised that an EEA family permit is still possible even though we have never officially cohabited.

What are your thoughts on it? Would we be able to build a somewhat good case for HO?

secret.simon

Re: Non-EEA unmarried partner family permit Advice

Post by secret.simon » Sat May 08, 2021 11:04 pm

victoriangkb wrote:
Sat May 08, 2021 10:53 pm
I have been advised that an EEA family permit is still possible even though we have never officially cohabited.