ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Requirement for Comprehensive Sick Insurance

A section for posts relating to applications for Naturalisation or Registration as a British Citizen. Naturalisation

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

gbozhanova
Newly Registered
Bulgaria

Requirement for Comprehensive Sick Insurance

Post by gbozhanova » Wed Jun 23, 2021 2:39 pm

Hello,
Apologies if this is a repeated topic but I wanted to get some additional opinions. I have been a student in the UK for about 8 years (undergrad and PhD) and I submitted an application for UK naturalisation. As far as I understood, if you have had medical cover in another EU country during period of being a student, the comprehensive sick insurance (CSI) requirement can be met that way. Annoyingly, my home country Bulgaria used to issue a document called S041 (equivalent to E104 or something like that) which basically states you had medical cover. I know some Bulgarians used that to get citizenship. However, not sure if this is Brexit related, but Bulgaria no longer issues that. I managed to obtain a document from Bulgarian National Revenues Agency stating that I have uninterrupted medical coverage and translated that in English. That was the only document I could include. Also added a covering letter explaining that. Obviously, like many other Europeans, I was not aware at the time of being student that I had to have CSI and fell into the same trap as many. Nothing I can do now apart from getting that proof.