ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

If application refused due to wrong job code, can I apply for PSW afterwards?

Only for the UK Skilled Worker visas, formerly known as Tier 2 visa route

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

bamblue
Newly Registered

25 hrs weekly of work on CoS and shortage occupation

Post by bamblue » Tue Jun 29, 2021 3:29 pm

Hi folks,

My CoS states that the weekly working hours is 25 hours, however my job is a full-time teaching role in a secondary school. Would this be a mistake? Since I am a teacher in a secondary school, I am not sure if this is how schools calculate working hours considered that we have summer/winter holidays as break.

Another query is about whether my job should be considered as a shortage occupation? My official title is Teacher of Spanish, French and English. According to the shortage occupation list for eaducation (see code 2314) https://www.gov.uk/government/publicati ... -education, teachers of foreign languages are on the shortage list, but teacher of English is not. In my case where I teach both shortage subjects (Spanish and French) and non-shortage subject (English), should this be regarded as a shortage occupation or not? My CoS states that it is not on the shortage occupation list, but I think this could be a mistake since I do teach shortage subjects?

I have looked at the published guidance on the home office website but no luck in finding anything directly addressing my queries. I am really hesitant to pay for 200 pounds of consultation fee for queries like these...

Any advice is appreciated. Thank you!

manci
Respected Guru

Re: 25 hrs weekly of work on CoS and shortage occupation