ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Switch Student Visa to Work Visa Within UK

Only for the UK Skilled Worker visas, formerly known as Tier 2 visa route

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

lubaz20
Newly Registered
Thailand

Switch Student Visa to Work Visa Within UK

Post by lubaz20 » Thu Jul 22, 2021 12:41 pm

Hi All

I have recently moved into UK with student visa and currently studying post-graduate course. My course will end in Jul 2022.

I have now been offered a job from a registered sponsor/employer. I have a masters degree from Australia. Can I switch to work visa from current student visa before completing my course within UK?

Is it mandatory to complete the current course under student visa and obtain UK degree before switching into work visa? Can I use my Australian masters degree?

Please let me know and thank you all in advance.

Regards

lolo2
Venezuela

Re: Switch Student Visa to Work Visa Within UK

Post by lolo2 » Thu Jul 22, 2021 7:46 pm

I understand that you can apply for the SW route up to three months before your course completion, or after you have completed 12 months of study if you are doing a PhD.

Also you will need to provide an expected course completion letter from the University as part of your application when applying to switch from Student to SW before your course completion.

You have just started your course and I do not think you can switch now. However, you still can work up to 20 hours a week during term-time with your current student visa, provided that your current leave allows you to do so.

Your Australian degree is irrelevant for this purpose.

Sha2019
Newly Registered
Bangladesh