ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Applying for a UK Visitor visa to invite family for a wedding

General UK immigration & work permits; don't post job search or family related topics!

Please use this section of the board if there is no specific section for your query.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

advice4321
Newly Registered

Applying for a UK Visitor visa to invite family for a wedding

Post by advice4321 » Wed Jun 29, 2022 1:26 pm

Hi All,

I understand this may be common knowledge to some of you, but this is my first time doing this, and I would be really grateful if you could offer some advice please.

I would like to invite my paternal aunt and cousin to visit the UK from Pakistan for my brother's wedding this year.

My aunt and cousin have both visited in the past and returned within their required dates but this was a number of years ago. My father has dealt with these things in the past, but is now much older and I have offered to help and am currently oblivious to the requirements and seeking advice.

From googling, it appears I would require a 'standard visitor visa'.

My questions:
- Do I need to be a sponsor? If so what are the requirements for this? (ie accommodation, minimum salary, savings etc)
- What is the recommended procedure? Do you need to hire someone to do this, or can you just do the application yourself via the gov portal?

I live in London, am currently married with children, own my home with space for them, and have savings if this is relevant.

I was born in the UK and have British citizenship (and am a NICOP Card holder) , family members to be invited have Pakistani nationality)