ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Unfair Withdrawal of Sponsorship by University

Only for UK Student Visas, formerly known as Tier 4 (General) student visa

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

Niharika63
Newly Registered
Mood:
India

Unfair Withdrawal of Sponsorship by University

Post by Niharika63 » Tue Aug 02, 2022 9:13 pm

Hi,
I am an international student from India and am currently studying in Aberystwyth University, Ceredigion, Wales.

I had approached the International Student Advisor to help me with an employer who was withholding my wages and trying to coerce me to work more than 20 hours per week (which is a breach of my visa conditions). The International Student Adviser misinterpreted this as me breaching the conditions of my visa when in fact I had not. At this time, I was initially reassured that I would be helped and that I had come to the right place as an international student. However, no help was given to me. After a few days, I got an email from the university Compliance Team that my student visa has been withdrawn and that I should go back to my country as soon as possible. I feel helpless and harassed and I think I have been treated extremely unfairly. Is there any way out of this situation?

vinny

Re: Unfair Withdrawal of Sponsorship by University

Post by vinny » Wed Aug 03, 2022 2:48 am

If you have not breached any conditions, then the University may be in breach of their contract with you under the Consumer Rights Act?

Then if you used a credit or debit card to pay your University fees, etc., then you may be able to use a Section 75 or chargeback claim.

Complain and ask for a remedy and compensation?