ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Reside an additional year or wait until completing just the days stayed outside Ireland?

Forum to discuss all things Blarney | Ireland immigration

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

mmssaa
India

Reside an additional year or wait until completing just the days stayed outside Ireland?

Post by mmssaa » Sun Jan 29, 2023 11:52 am

Hi all,

(Asking this for a friend). Let's say that I have been a resident of this country for five years, with the exception of one year during which I remained outside the country for a period of seven weeks or 49 days. According to the regulations, time spent outside the country for more than six weeks in a year does not count towards the residency requirement for citizenship.

I am seeking clarification on whether I am required to either reside an additional year within the country before applying for citizenship or wait until I have completed a total of five years plus an additional 49 days before submitting an application.

I would appreciate any insight or guidance on this matter. Thank you.

meself2
Ireland

Re: Residency Requirement for Citizenship

Post by meself2 » Sun Jan 29, 2023 11:57 am

Depends if the year, in which that happened, was the one right before applying.

If you've lived in the country for 5 years and on 3rd (for example) year you've gone over the absence threshold (7 weeks), you need to live in the country for 5 years + 7 weeks, so you can cover what you've missed. Ref: https://www.oireachtas.ie/en/debates/qu ... 12-15/288/