ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

How do I prove I was in the UK 3 years ago?

A section for posts relating to applications for Naturalisation or Registration as a British Citizen. Naturalisation

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

Liberal Immigrant

How do I prove I was in the UK 3 years ago?

Post by Liberal Immigrant » Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:49 am

Dear all,

I am applying for naturalisation next week as the spouse of a British Citizen. How do I prove I was present in the UK in March 2007 i.e. 3 years prior to the date of my application?

I was enrolled at university at the time and I have requested a letter form the university confirming that I was a student there from 2005 to 2008 (which covers the whole month of March 2007). Will this letter be sufficient OR do I have to show some document proving I was 100% in the UK on the day in question? How da heck do I prove that?

I really do not have any other documents (other than the university letter) to prove I was in the UK in March 2007. As for my passport, it was retained by the HO in 2000 ever since I came to the UK & so I couldn’t have travelled. I have explained this in my supporting letter. Would this be sufficient?

Would appreciate your help guys. Thanks.

Plum70
Diamond Member

Post by Plum70 » Fri Mar 19, 2010 2:38 pm

I take it that you switched in-country to a spouse visa? So no entry stamps...

So, in addition to your college letter you can supply: utility bills, bank statements, GP, HMRC, HMCS letters.

Danbrix

Post by Danbrix » Fri Mar 19, 2010 5:38 pm

What was your immigration status in March 2007?