ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Job Market scene in UK - fact

Employers looking for workers, people looking for employers: Get connected here.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

IMHO4u
BANNED

Job Market scene in UK - fact

Post by IMHO4u » Sun May 16, 2010 7:57 am

It seems many people here are interested in knowing the current trends in all mystic world of UK jobs. I am no expert, but can share a recent experience at my company.
Our requirement was 2 people, one for a testing role and another for a Java developer (we were looking for 2+ year’s experience, recruiting after a gap of 3 years!!)

Total number of applications for both roles, 951 ! :shock: (Our lone HR person was hit by this hurricane of people, some even applying from India, but job was never advertised in INDIA! ??? ) :shock:

After screening the applications, we found that most if not all are highly skilled only (funny, because there was a government which made us believe in shortage of skilled people, thats a lie! Atleast from what we have seen)

Completed telephonic and got it down to 10 each for interview. (all applications from INDIA rejected without telephonic, but again, majority applications within UK were from Indians as well, most on tier 1 or residency! ... thank god, no paper work) :lol:

Yes, almost 10-20 of them were very good and great experience, plan was to get java guy for around 31K and tester for 26K (we are a small company). In end, we got Java for 22K and tester for 17K and people were willing to go down on that, but we agreed as below this was bit sad. :(