ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Sponsor is on benefits - will this logic work for settlement

Questions and discussions about claiming benefits while living and working in the UK

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

3point14
Newly Registered

Sponsor is on benefits - will this logic work for settlement

Post by 3point14 » Sat May 22, 2010 11:30 pm

Hi,

I wonder if someone could cast an eye over this logic for a UK non married partner settlement visa.

The facts:

I am a UK born resident, my partner is a Thai female, we have been in a relationship outside the UK for 5 years, we have a small child who does not need a visa due to having a UK passport (dual nationality), unfortunately my job fell through and I am claiming benefits. I want to bring her to the UK but supporting 2 homes without an income is hard, and I would rather bring her over now, rather than wait until I can get another job.

The proposal:

I am aware that the current authority on minimum income adequacy is taken to be the level of income support which that family would receive were they not subject to immigration control. I am aware of the non recourse to "extra" public funds as a consequence of her being given a settlement visa. I am aware of the tax credits joint claim disregard. I am aware than due to the length of our relationship outside the UK my partner qualifies for ILE but will be subject to KOL. I am aware of the accommodation requirements.

I believe my partner's application would be successful if I were still in employment. I think I have covered all bases on all requirements except the adequacy of finances and the non recourse to public funds.