ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Jobs in UK

Employers looking for workers, people looking for employers: Get connected here.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

Arpita
Newly Registered

Jobs in UK

Post by Arpita » Wed Jun 02, 2010 10:20 am

Hi I am a Lawyer practising in India. My husband has obtained a UK Tier 1 Visa and is planning to move there next month to look for a job. I would like to move in there shortly after him and work. To practise in UK I need to complete certain qualification tests. Hence till then I want to know if I can find a decent job in any other sector. If any of you are aware of anything in this regard, do help me out. Thanks!

kenfrapin

Post by kenfrapin » Wed Jun 02, 2010 11:19 am

Hi Arpita,

As your question dint ask about lawyering and nor do I know anything in that field, I can give some help on securing jobs in other sectors

1. When you say other sectors, do you have particular ones in mind?
2. Whatever the sector, you need to have some sort of experience in the field - say admin, secretarial, accountancy etc
3. If you are looking to work in services - check out tills, restaurants, hotels etc then it depends on where you will stay. Most of such jobs are taken up by college students as it has crazy work time requirements
4. Nothing much around these days so dont hedge your bets on finding a job in any area until you complete your tests