ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Lost passport - degree certificate proof of continous stay?

Only for queries regarding Indefinite Leave to Remain (ILR). Please use the EU Settlement Scheme forum for queries about settled status under Appendix EU

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

ibiza
Newly Registered

Lost passport - degree certificate proof of continous stay?

Post by ibiza » Tue Jul 20, 2010 2:55 pm

Hi,
I have an issue with an application for ILR on the basis of 10 years in the UK as a student: I lost one of my passports I held during that time and I did a degree course during the entire time that passport was covering. Will it be sufficient proof of continous stay to show the degree certifcate I earned from the course? Unfortunately I don't have any other proofs of continous residence anymore but to have gotten the degree should prove that I must have been in the UK continously, will the home office follow that logic?

bb21

Post by bb21 » Tue Jul 20, 2010 4:08 pm

Get your SAR file which should show all your approved LTR's. I'm not sure that a degree certificate or attendance record alone would be sufficient to prove that you had LEGAL stay which is the key difference between 10 and 14-year concessions. Plus did you file a report with the police when your passport were lost? Otherwise it could raise suspicion in the caseworker's mind as to why you have not reported it.

As I said, your SAR file is probably your best chance at the moment. Get it asap as it can take a while and read through them when you receive yours and see if that covers the missing years.

ibiza
Newly Registered

Post by ibiza » Tue Jul 20, 2010 6:43 pm