ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Emigrating with a baby, or having a baby in Canada?

About immigration to Canada, canadian immigration programms.
Skilled worker points calculator | about skilled worker immigration

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

hsingleton
Newly Registered

Emigrating with a baby, or having a baby in Canada?

Post by hsingleton » Sun Feb 27, 2011 10:38 pm

Hi

My husband & I are hoping to emigrate to BC in the next few years. I am a veterinary nurse (or technician as it is referred to in Canada), & my husband has family (dad & sister) in BC.

We have used the eligibilty tool on the Canadian immigration website, & understand that we have a chance of being accepted under the skilled working category as long as I had an offer of arranged employment.

At some point in the next few years we would also like to have a baby (our first child). What I would like to know is what would be the most beneficial way with regards to emigrating...to have the baby in the UK & emigrate at some point afterwards (if so, how many years?), or to emmigrate to BC & then have the baby after a few years? What would my maternity rights etc be in BC?

The only other possible complication is my husband's age - he is currently 51. I fall within the 21 - 49 category, but I am just a little concerned in case my husband's chances of emigrating become more difficult as he ages!

Any advice much appreciated.

giuseppenero

job offer

Post by giuseppenero » Wed Mar 02, 2011 4:03 am