ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

NHS Registration for visa less than 6 months

This is an area for the discussion of matters related to issues about moving from one country to another. Examples could be about money transfer, moving and packing, validity of driving licence, etc..

It is not a general non-immigration, free-for-all area.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

cradlecog
Newly Registered

NHS Registration for visa less than 6 months

Post by cradlecog » Wed Jan 26, 2011 7:36 pm

Hi,
I have been visiting UK on a WP / Tier 2 since last 7 yrs or so ..usually for 6 months to a year ...I never registered in a GP when I was single ...but did get registered without any problem when i came with my wife last year ...and then went back...this time i have come with my 1 yr old daughter , but the nearest GP has refused to register her as our visas expire on 1st July '11...Although the total visa duration is of more than 8 months , as of now less than 6 months are remaining.(family traveled later)..
Even though it will be extended, but i cant send it now for an extension as more than 5 months are still remaining ..
They have also refused to transfer me and my wife from the old GP because of the same reason ..
I am more concerned about my daughter as she is too young to remain without medical security ..
As a legal NI payer and taxpayer do i have any rights for medical cover in this country ???

bobtail
Newly Registered

Post by bobtail » Thu Jan 27, 2011 12:47 pm

Indeed, you do.
You're entitled to medical care even if you're in UK on tourist visa.