ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Canada, Australia, Bahamas.....where to go??HELP!!

Please post country topics not listed elsewhere.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

trisash
Newly Registered

Canada, Australia, Bahamas.....where to go??HELP!!

Post by trisash » Mon Sep 25, 2006 11:08 pm

I hope somebody can help me out with this one.....im sure there must be one or two in a similar situation!:

I am a qualified accountant from the UK, 25 years old. My girlfriend is American and we have been together for 3 years. We are not intending on getting married in the near future. I was hoping to live and work in the US for maybe 2 or 3 years, with the H1B seeming to be my best option. However, after much research this seems very difficult as there are restrictions on quantity of these issued and having to find a company to sponsor me (please correct me if i am wrong!!)

As a result i think it maybe easier to move to a different country and to take my girlfriend with me. Due to my work, and after carrying out some research, i think i could obtain a work visa and employment in a few other countries for example Canada, Australia and the Bahamas. Can anybody tell me of any countries that are worth considering as a next move, both in ease of gaining a work permit for my partner and for a good quality of living standards.

My situation is further complicated as my partner has a small child who will require schooling. Can anyone offer me advice on where my girlfriend and I stand on obtaining schooling in any of these countries??

I would appreciate any advice!

JAJ
Australia

Re: Canada, Australia, Bahamas.....where to go??HELP!!