ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Some questions about the Working Holiday Visa

General UK immigration & work permits; don't post job search or family related topics!

Please use this section of the board if there is no specific section for your query.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

marshaholly
Newly Registered

Some questions about the Working Holiday Visa

Post by marshaholly » Tue Nov 07, 2006 3:48 pm

Hey all,

I am a fresh graduate, having undertaken my undergraduate degree in London and before that, I completed my A Levels in Belfast.

I had to leave the UK, as I could not acquire employment and had run out of time on my student visa. I am looking to return on a Working Holiday Visa, as I would like to combine work & travel - the latter is definitely in the books, as I did not get many opportunities whilst in university.

However, I need some advice regarding the WHV, please help:

1. If I decide to apply for post-graduate studies, do I have to return to my home country and re-enter, or is it possible to apply & convert the WHV to a student visa, whilst in the UK, as this would save me a lot of money on flight costs.

2. If I acquire a sponsor for a Work Permit, is it possible to switch from the WHV to a Work Permit easily? If so, is the remaining duration of the WHV still applicable for another time?

e.g. I work for two months, get a work permit, switch... four years down the line, i decide to use the remainder of my WMV - logical? complete [******language please]? help!

Also, just a thought - does the fact that I've spent the last 5 years of my life in the UK help in any way?