ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Can rental income on my new home be shown to score points

Archived UK Tier 1 (General) points system forum. This route no longer exists.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

jacobuk83
Newly Registered

Can rental income on my new home be shown to score points

Post by jacobuk83 » Fri Mar 30, 2012 5:43 pm

Hi All,

Just looking for a bit of advise so that I can plan ahead. I work in the public sector as a Systems Analyst and draw about £36400 gross. I also run a small limited company however havnt been trading for the last year due to various reasons; the main being travelling and getting married. I will be applying for my Tier 1 extension in January 2013. I have recently bought a new home with my wife (British Citizen) and we have rented out one room at £550 per month. This amounts to £6600 for the year and so my total earnings go up to £43000. My question is;

Can this rental income be shown along with my takings from my main job in order to score points for the £40k - £49k bracket?

I have an rental agreement for the renter and she pays into my bank account every month. We also have a mortgage but the payments are set up to go out of my wife's account. Also, I do not wish to be on a spouce visa hence I need to apply for this extension.

Looking for some expert advise. Many thanks in advance.

Regards,
Jacob

Manka10

Post by Manka10 » Fri Mar 30, 2012 5:53 pm

You cannot show income from rent unless you are officially in the business of renting properties.

Read Tier 1 guidance point # 101
Manka

jacobuk83
Newly Registered

Post by jacobuk83 » Fri Mar 30, 2012 6:00 pm