ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Leaving UK before switching to Tier-4 Student

Archived UK Tier 1 (Post-Study Work) points system forum. This route no longer exists.

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

fido86
Newly Registered

Leaving UK before switching to Tier-4 Student

Post by fido86 » Sun Oct 06, 2013 7:21 pm

Hi all,

I am currently under PSW visa and I'm doing a PhD now. I haven't yet switched to a student visa. I want to leave UK for 2 weeks for some business and come back. Is it fine to leave UK before switching into a student visa? Is it likely that immigration officer could refuse granting me entry saying that you must be under a student visa not a PSW?

Thanks.

Lucapooka
Respected Guru

Post by Lucapooka » Sun Oct 06, 2013 7:29 pm

If your current leave is still valid you can come and go with that. PSW, however, is not a study visa and if questioned on arrival, saying that you have no employment under your current status and are merely entering the UK to effect a switch to T4, would certainly be a recipe for disaster.

fido86
Newly Registered

Post by fido86 » Sun Oct 06, 2013 7:34 pm

If I was asked then, because they always ask what are you doing in the UK or what are you going to do, what should I answer then?

Lucapooka
Respected Guru

Post by Lucapooka » Sun Oct 06, 2013 7:40 pm

You seem to be asking for tips on deception, or am I not understanding your meaning?. You can't say something that you know is not correct. It's really straightforward: when asked questions by immigration officers, you must make truthful responses. Tell them your current situation and why you are entering the UK.