ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Spouse Visa (How much Savings required?)

Family member & Ancestry immigration; don't post other immigration categories, please!
Marriage | Unmarried Partners | Fiancé/e | Ancestry

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe, Administrator

Jay4you

Spouse Visa (How much Savings required?)

Post by Jay4you » Wed Aug 01, 2012 12:33 pm

Hi Guys,

I am getting married in November this year and planning to apply for Spouse Visa for my wife around end of November. I am a permanent resident of UK (ILR) with an annual salary of above £45k P/A. I have no problem meeting minimum £18,600 income rule that came to effect on 9th July but I am worried that I don’t have much of savings.

I bought a property in India last year and used up most of my savings there. Due to this at the time of applying for her spouse visa I won’t be able to show savings of more the £7-8k. I am wondering if this will have any negative effect on UKBA decision. I didn’t see this mentioned anywhere.

As I am meeting the £18,600 income rule, I assume it does not matter if I only show a saving of £7-8K? (I know one need to show £16,000 savings if they don’t meet this criteria) My would be wife is currently working in India & she will also show her savings but I guess only my financial situation matters.

Apologies if this come across as a stupid question or seems like I am answering my own question but I thought it’s better to be re-assured by someone here.

Many Thanks
Jay

harv

Post by harv » Wed Aug 01, 2012 12:39 pm

As long as you meet the minimum salary requirements you do not need to worry about savings.
Feb 2012 - Spouse Visa - New Delhi