ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

HMRC tax issue

A section for posts relating to applications for Naturalisation or Registration as a British Citizen. Naturalisation

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

bobobo

HMRC tax issue

Post by bobobo » Thu Oct 11, 2012 9:21 am

Hi Guys, I am about to apply for Naturalisation next week using NCS. I have a question I need to check. I am a contractor working for an INv Bank via my limited company. so I have just provided my Self Assesment ref number on the AN form. I have the statement from HMRC which shows I have paid £35k in Self Assesment taxes for the previous Financial Year and I they owe me £1.12, nect payment is due on 31 January 2013 for £20k but havent filed the return yet. However From my pervious employment HMRC feel I underpaid taxes in range for 5K and 2 K, so I have been paying these to HMRC in installments (without fail) for a year and a month respectively(2 seperate issues).

1.Would this be a problem when the HO checks with HMRC to find out if my taxes are in order since I am paying my dues in installments?
2. I have just provided my Self Assesment Ref Number and NOT my PAYE ref in the AN form, is that fine as I dont pay any NI or TAxes (take a salary of about 8k a year and rest in dividends ) hence the high Self Assesment tax.

Please let me know your thoughts on this.
thanks

ceem
Newly Registered

Post by ceem » Thu Oct 11, 2012 9:48 am

It should not be a problem as long as a payment plan is set up with HMRC. They can check with the tax office using your NI number if you have provided one in your application

bobobo

Post by bobobo » Fri Oct 12, 2012 12:32 pm