ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Name on Citizenship certificate

A section for posts relating to applications for Naturalisation or Registration as a British Citizen. Naturalisation

Moderators: Casa, push, JAJ, ca.funke, Amber, zimba, vinny, Obie, EUsmileWEallsmile, batleykhan, meself2, geriatrix, John, ChetanOjha, archigabe

sudhy6
Newly Registered

Name on Citizenship certificate

Post by sudhy6 » Thu Oct 25, 2012 10:11 am

Please can someone let me know if its normal for married women to have their citizenship certificate in their maiden name. I had applied under my married name which i have been using for the last 5 years. However my certificate is in my maiden name. My passport is also in my married name. I want to have my british passport in married name. Please could someone advise if this is normal for UKBA or is this a mistake?

Thanks in advance

Jambo
Respected Guru

Post by Jambo » Thu Oct 25, 2012 11:08 am

If you applied under your married name (i.e. that the name you put in Q1.6 on the form), then this is a mistake. You will need to contact the HO to have them reissue the certificate.

sudhy6
Newly Registered

Post by sudhy6 » Fri Oct 26, 2012 7:09 am

Thank you so much. How about if I applied for the passport and used my marriage certificate as proof of my new name? Would that create problems?

bobobo

Post by bobobo » Fri Oct 26, 2012 7:59 am

You cant afford to have the wrong name on the Naturalisation certificate. passport is just a travel document. get this corrected on the certificate before you face issues.
sudhy6 wrote:Thank you so much. How about if I applied for the passport and used my marriage certificate as proof of my new name? Would that create problems?

badbug27
Newly Registered